RSS

Lizards: Nature still the miraculous thing it’s supposed to be?

08 May

Warning: This post is not for lizard-lovers (if there are such people), or I suppose reptile-lovers, in general.

So I discovered a lizard in my room. This huge, fat lizard with bulging bloodshot eyes, wagging its tail and staring at me with the creepy eyes every lizard possesses. Alright I’m exaggerating, obviously. It wasn’t wagging its tail. Lizards don’t wag their tails. Nor did it have bulging bloodshot eyes. Nor was it a huge, fat one. In fact, it was a baby lizard. But, it was not cute, at all, and it was staring at me with creepy eyes. 😐

See those creepy eyes I'm talking about?

See those creepy eyes I'm talking about?

A couple of weeks back I’d discovered a lizard (that was a big one) in my kitchen.. That’s not that bad. You don’t live in your kitchen. But my own room? Who’s the Universe kidding? And who was the Universe kidding when it created creatures like lizards?!

Whether it’s evolution, or God.. or whatever the hell the world-creating superpower’s supposed to be, couldn’t have the lizards been omitted from the plan? All reptiles, for that matter? Or maybe just home lizards? This is just unfair. I know life’s not supposed to be fair, but that unfair? Even God can’t be that inhuman. And God’s supposed to be nice! :O

Thanks to the stupid lizard, I have now shifted to the other room for tonight’s sleep. 😐
I mean, look at its nerve – it’s coming into my house (well, my parents’, but that’s not important), in my room, and driving me out of there! And it’s like, five hundred times smaller than me. Yes yes, size is no guarantee of power (I mean, look at Ginny Weasley :P), but still.

It’s not it’s doing something to me, the lizard.. but that doesn’t matter. It’s more like the fact that it exists.. you know? (Lizards are to humans like me what Severus Snape was to James Potter, and what spiders are to Ron Weasley.) It’s basically just … creepy. There’s really no other word for it.

Although most of my friends hate lizards as much as me.. reading this post again does make me wonder if I’m over-reacting? Actually, I’m not. If I’ll go and see it I’ll probably freak out once again. I don’t think I’m over-reacting. I think I finally figured out what my Boggart would be. 😐

But do all of you hate/are scared of them as much as me? Anybody with any good suggestions on how to get over this or how to keep them away? 😦
I’ve heard peacock feathers keep lizards away. That true? I’ll get a pet peacock if that’s what it takes.

How does one expect me to sleep, knowing there’s a lizard on the ceiling above, ready to fall on my face if its grip breaks? (Alright I know that can’t possibly happen.. but it can! :O)

I wish for a world without reptiles…
Okay since that might spoil the ecological balance and everything, I’ll tone my wish down a bit for the greater good. 8)
I wish for a world without home lizards… :/

Do you? 😛

Update: 10 Most Disturbing Animals on Earth. Never thought I’d be saying this, but.. they make the lizards look almost okay.. :O

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2011 in Random

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Lizards: Nature still the miraculous thing it’s supposed to be?

  1. Jacob Potterhead Dsouza

    July 30, 2011 at 7:53 am

    well i think ur over reacting here. lizards are creepy but there are far more repulsive creatures within our homes then lizards. like large flying cockroaches, certain types of light loving insects that come inside the house if u leave the balcony door open after sunset and then fly from one light to another, certain types of bees and crickets…certian kind of ants and the larvea that come out of rotten vegetables!!! these are far more annoying. lizards normally mind there own business and dnt irrritate intentionally 😛

     
    • Mallika :)

      July 30, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      Yeah I do realize I over-reacted. 😛
      Okay yeah, you made your point. 😐 But lizards are as creepy, if not more.
      Well yeah I have to agree to that. (that doesn’t change anything though) :/

       
  2. RoBH

    March 1, 2012 at 8:24 am

    I’m the opposite of you. You know that part in the bible when that guy holds something, it’s a stick and when he doesn’t, it’s a snake? I would get trolled by that thing. I actually love lizards a lot. I got knowledge about numerous misconceptions. Most of their claws are actually black and not tannish white. Slitlike eyes are actually night vision and therefore most lizard eyes have round pupil eyes. Not all of them are green. Most of them are different colors. Their tongues are not ribbons with triangles cut out of them, but rathar 2 sections that spit apart from each other abruptly.

     
    • Mallika :)

      March 4, 2012 at 9:02 pm

      That’s actually cool, you know. To each his own. It’s just that.. they creep ‘me’ out. -_-

       
  3. Styledragon98

    April 10, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I am actually RoBH down there, and one if my friend’s mom actually can’t even look at them and says she would have nightmared if she did. I’m gonna make a movie thar has a reptilian villain but instead of the villain(s(is there ever more than one ever?)) makes friends with the humans rather than die like in everything else, and still endures a conflict. (poker face. Should it be a troll face?)

     
    • Mallika :)

      April 12, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      Haha. 😀
      Well. Troll face if you aren’t serious.
      If you are, I’d like to see the movie. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
